IAPR Awards

IAPR Awards
King Sun Fu Prize
J. K. Aggarwal Prize
Maria Petrou Prize
ICDAR Awards
P. Zamperoni Award
Pierre Devijver Award
Certificates of Appreciation
Senior Biometrics Investigator
Young Biometrics Investigator

The King-Sun Fu Prize

The International Association for Pattern Recognition (IAPR) is pleased to announce a call for nominations for the King-Sun Fu Prize in honor of the memory of Professor King-Sun Fu. (Professor Fus biography appeared in the IEEE Trans. PAMI, May 1986 and is also available in pdf form at http://dataclustering.cse.msu.edu/KSFu_Biography.pdf.)

Videos and slides of talks given by the most recent recipients of the KS Fu Prize can be retrieved from this website.

Professor Fu was instrumental in the founding of IAPR, served as its first president, and is widely recognized for his extensive contributions to the field of pattern recognition.

This biennial prize is given to a living person in recognition of an outstanding technical contribution to the field of pattern recognition, and consists of a cash amount and a suitably inscribed certificate. The prize is derived from interest income from a special fund set up for this purpose.

The nomination must be made by a member of a national member society of IAPR and by endorsement of at least five members, representing at least two member societies different from that of the nominator. The prize recipient shall be selected by the Prize Committee, subject to approval by the IAPR Governing Board. Members of the IAPR Executive Committee, as well as of the Prize Committee, shall be ineligible for the prize and may not serve as nominators or endorsers.

The 2014 prize will be presented at the

22nd International Conference on Pattern Recognition (ICPR)
Stockholm, Sweden, August
August 24-28, 2014

The nomination must be made on special nomination and endorsement forms, and must be received by the Prize Committee Chairman no later than January 15, 2014. Completed and signed nomination and endorsement forms must be submitted as pdf files to the chairman of the Prize Committee:

Prof. Rama Chellappa
Chair, K-S. Fu Prize Committee
University of Maryland, College Park, MD, 20742, USA
email: rama@cfar.umd.edu

King-Sun Fu Prize Nomination Forms can be retrieved here:

Endorsement Form (.doc)
Nomination Form (.doc)

2014 Award Winner in Stockholm

Professor Jitendra Malik
For contributions to fundamental algorithms and their theoretical underpinnings in computer vision.

2012 Award Winner in Tsukuba

Professor Rama Chellappa

2010 Award Winner in Istanbul

Professor Horst Bunke

2008 Award Winner in Tampa

Professor Anil K. Jain

2006 Award Winner in Hong Kong

Professor Josef Kittler

2004 Award Winner in Cambridge

Professor J. K. Aggarwal

2002 Award Winner in Quebec City

Professor Thomas S. Huang

2000 Award Winner in Barcelona

Professor Theo Pavlidis

1998 Award Winner in Brisbane

Professor Jean-Claude Simon

1996 Award Winner in Vienna

Professor Teuvo Kohonen

1994 Award Winner in Jerusalem

Professor Herbert Freeman

1992 Award Winner in The Hague

Professor Leveen Kanal

1990 Award Winner in Atlantic City

Professor R.L. Kashyap

1988 Award Winner in Rome

Professor Azriel Rosenfeld

Home | About Us | IAPR Constitution | Publications | Conferences | Committees | News | Fellows & Awards

Copyright 2016, IAPR. All rights reserved.